Clearaudio has treated us to a great vinyl record which has compiled "minor works" for piano performed by masters from the catalog of the German label Deutsche Grammophon. We meet a cast of gorgeous pieces played with great ease, including classics from Bach and Handel, performed exemplarily by Wilhelm Kempff, to Rachmaninow works performed by the subtle hands of Svjatoslav Richter. Clearaudio has mastered these classics from the original master tapes and has treated the project with care and knowledge necessary to offer a really attractive disc.


Große Meister: Kleine Stucke


Side A: 

Maurice Ravel (1875-1937)
1. Jeux d’eau Martha Argerich, piano Frederic Chopin (1810-1849)
2. Prelude Des-dur op. 28 Nr. 15 Martha Argerich, piano
3. Berceuse Des-dur op. 57 Stefan Askenase, piano Bed_ich Smetana (1824-1884)
4. Slepi_ka (Huhnchen) (Tschechische Tanze II: Nr. 2) Stefan Askenase, piano Franz Liszt (1811-1886)
5. Liebestraum Nr. 3 Stefan Askenase, piano Felix Mendelssohn (1809-1847)
6. Fruhlingslied (Lieder ohne Worte op. 62: Nr. 6) 7. Spinnerlied (Lieder ohne Worte op. 67: Nr. 4) Daniel Barenboim, piano


Side B: 

Claude Debussy (1862-1918)
1. Feux d’artifice Monique Haas, piano Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)
2. Siciliano (Flotensonate BWV 1031: 2. Satz) Wilhelm Kempff, piano Georg Friedrich Handel (1685-1759)
3. Menuett (Suite de pieces pour le clavecin HWV 434: 4. Satz) Wilhelm Kempff, piano Christoph Willibald Gluck (1714-1787)
4. Reigen seliger Geister (Orphee et Eurydice) Wilhelm Kempff, piano Frederic Chopin (1810-1849)
5. Etude C-dur op. 10 Nr. 1
6. Etude c-moll op. 10 Nr. 12 “Revolutions-Etude“ Swjatoslaw Richter, piano Sergej Rachmaninov (1873-1943)
7. Prélude g-moll op. 23 Nr. 5
8. Prélude c-moll op. 23 Nr. 7 Swjatoslaw Richter, piano Domenico Scarlatti (1685-1757) 16. Sonate E-dur K. 20 Alexis Weissenberg, piano

Artist: Martha Argerich, Stefan Askenase, Daniel Barenboim, Monique Haas, Wilhelm Kempff, Swjatoslaw Richter, Alexis Weissenberg
Label: Deutsche Grammophon
Media: 180g Vinyl